Board Member List

Executive Committee

Steve Coen, Chair
Kansas Health Foundation

Don Sherman, Vice Chair
Westar Energy

Clay Bastian, Finance Chair*
Fidelity Financial Corporation

Cindy Claycomb, Immediate Past Chair*
City of Wichita

Committee Chairs

Business Development

Gary Schmitt

Image Enhancement and Marketing

Todd Ramsey
Apples & Arrows


Clay Bastian
Fidelity Bank

Urban Vitality

Larry Weber
Garvey Center

Board Members

Alan Banta, Trans Pacific Oil Corp

John Belford, Belford Electric

Greg Boulanger,* Cargill

Cassandra Bryan, cb{d} Cassandra Bryan Design

Wayne Chambers, High Touch, Inc.

Randy Doerksen, Meritrust Credit Union

Sharon Fearey, Downtown Resident

Scott Flemming, Sullivan Higdon Sink

Marilyn Grisham, The Fiber Studio

Dick Honeyman,* Hite, Fanning & Honeyman

Nicole Howerton, Howerton+White

Tom Johnson, NAI Martens

Joe Johnson*, SJCF Architecture

Joel Kelley, Cablecom, Inc.

Martha Linsner, The Trust Company Kansas (TCK)

Bill Livingston,* GLMV Architecture

Matt Michaelis, Emprise Bank

Todd Ramsey, Apple & Arrows

John Rupp, J.P. Weigand, Inc.

Gary Schmitt*, INTRUST Bank

Don Sherman, Westar Energy

Joe Tigert, New York Life

Sean P. Weaver, Allen, Gibbs & Houlik, L.C.

Larry Weber*, Garvey Center

Mary Wright, Old Mill Tasty Shop

Rod Young, Professional Engineering Consultants, P.A.

Ex Officio Members

Debra Fraser, Old Town Association – President

Scott Knebel, City of Wichita – Planning Dept.

Dale Miller, City of Wichita – Planning Dept.

Cindy Claycomb – District VI, City of Wichita

Shelly Prichard, Wichita Community Foundation

Dave Unruh, Sedgwick County Commission

Scot Rigby, City of Wichita

Susan Santo, Visit Wichita

Brandon Johnson – District I, City of Wichita

Pete Meitzner – District II, City of Wichita

Jonathan Long – Wichita Regional Chamber of Commerce

* Denotes Past Downtown Wichita Chair

SSMID Advisory Board

Downtown Wichita contracts with the City of Wichita on an annual basis to provide downtown development services. The contract is funded through a Self Supported Municipal Improvement District (SSMID). Property owners within the SSMID pay an additional property tax mil levy. The SSMID boundaries are Washington Street, Central Avenue, Kellogg and the Arkansas River. 

The Downtown Wichita Board of Directors employs a professional staff that can assist developers and property owners evaluate and plan a range of investment decisions. We can help to identify prospective business locations, provide market data, evaluate opportunities for new retail and service businesses, develop marketing and promotional strategies and assist with conceptualizing and implementing construction projects.

In 2010, the City of Wichita adopted Project Downtown: The Master Plan for Wichita. Downtown Wichita serves as the private sector implementer of the master plan.

2018 SSMID Advisory Board Members

Joe Johnson, Chairman
Schaefer Johnson Cox Frey Architecture

Alan Banta
Trans Pacific Oil Corporation

John Belford
Belford Electric

Jim Faith
Emprise Bank

Dick Honeyman
Hite, Fanning & Honeyman LLP

Don Sherman
Westar Energy

Larry Weber
Garvey Center

Mary Wright
Old Mill Tasty Shop

Rod Young
Professional Engineering Consultants, P.A.

Ex Officio Members

Scot Rigby
City of Wichita

Jeff Fluhr
Downtown Wichita

SSMID Public Budget Workshop Minutes

IRS 990 Reports

Budget vs. Actual Income and Expenditures